Who said boxed food isn’t healthy ?

I guess you can say I’ve been in a grocery rut for years now. Typically I don’t even need to make a list when going grocery shopping because I buy the same things each week. 

However I turned over a new leaf. Through recommendations by friends I’ve joined healthy living Ottawa. It’s a company that delivers vegetable boxes to your door.

They offer two types of boxes a harvest box and a local box. The local box is only offered between the spring and fall and is exclusively local vegetables.  Our plan is to have local while we can then when the friged cold winter comes we will switch to the harvest box. 

  
It’s been a learning experience but also fun at the same time. Our first week we got Kolroby and, to be honest. I didn’t know what to do with it.  So I googled away and made a fritter from it. (Well a highly modified version of the recipie I found.).  The past two weeks we received parsley in the box.  I really didn’t use the first bunch so when the second one came I knew I had to do something. Tabbouleh!   

 The delivery is amazing. You don’t even have to be home. They will just leave it outside your door and it’s there when you get home.  I find myself excited each week to open my box and see what I got.  Not to mention the fact that I’m eating local healthy vegetables. 

This entry was posted in Diet, Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

